DIY Hair Tutorial – Dark Brown to Platinum Blonde

How do you go from dark dark hair to platinum blonde yourself with the most basic of equipment? Allow me to show you.

I always wanted to try blonde hair but never got myself past the stage of orange before giving up, and this year after getting my heart broken, I did what all females do when they are butt-hurt in life – I put all my energy and focus into drastically changing my hair.
I have been asked by heaps of people how I did it, so I figured I may as well write a tutorial-style blog post!

So here is what I used:

Nordic Blonde L1++ or Nordic Blonde L101, whichever you can get your hands on. Must lighten at least 6-7 shades, though.

Nordic Blonde L1++ or Nordic Blonde L101, whichever you can get your hands on. Must lighten at least 6-7 shades, though. Available at the supermarket for ca. $11. 

Nordic Blonde Toner, available at the supermarket for ca. $9

Nordic Blonde Toner, available at the supermarket for ca. $9

Fudge or Nak purple shampoo, both available at all haircare stores

Fudge or Nak purple shampoo, both available at all haircare stores

Once you have those things, you may begin.
I started by “ombre-ing” my hair from my cheekbones down, because I knew that there was older hair dye in the ends that would need more lightening than the roots. I spent a month or so ombre-ing my hair and periodically lightening the ends, until I just decided to take the plunge and bleached the whole thing. I did this over a 2 day period and the process went as follows:
Bleach
Toner
Purple Shampoo
Wait a few hours
Bleach
Toner
Purple Shampoo
Wait a few hours
Toner
Purple Shampoo
And then I just kept purple shampooing it regularly in the shower (and still do). Don’t worry about using purple conditioner though, it’s really the shampoo that does the job. I use a super moisturising conditioner to balance out the drying effects of the purple shampoo and the amount of bleach my hair has had this year.
The most important things to note are that when doing this, your hair WILL go orange and yellow. That’s fine, this is what toner and purple shampoo take are of. Violet/blue and yellow are contrasting colours, so much like when you use green based makeup to remove redness, a violet based solution on your hair will reduce yellow tones – it’s just colour science. This is why Fudge and Nak are two of the best purple shampoos, because the colour is a deep bluey violet. If the purple shampoo is a lavenderish colour then it won’t do it’s job properly.

Here is the 3 part result, from dark to blonde:
result
And that’s pretty much all there is to it. My hair didn’t fall out or anything, I have no idea where that myth comes from but I feel like it’s a big lie invented by the hair industry to pressure you into paying $200 every fortnight to get your roots done or some bullshit.
Also, I’m not a hairdresser. I cut and dye my hair myself because I find that hairdressers never seem to manage to cut or get the colour I want. When I last asked a hairdresser if she could achieve platinum blonde on me, she said I would have to come in every 6 weeks to lighten down a shade or two until we got there. Fuck that noise, I’ll do it myself in 3 days for $30, thanks.
If you have any questions, just ask in the comments!

Love, Chelle xxoxoxoxooxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

