30 Day Drawing Challenge Update

Well as the days have gone by, I have added to my sketchbook in the name of the 30 Day Drawing Challenge. I have really been enjoying this; and have found my artwork to be improving on the daily. I can’t tell whether that is out of enthusiasm, or whether it is because I am no longer in a stressful job that saps my creativity! Anyway, here are some more:

Day 7. A Couple (Any Two People)
Walt “Hindelberg” White and Jesse “Jossy” Pinkman from Breaking Bad

Haha, Jossy and Hindelberg.

Day 8. Something You’re Afraid Of
PIERCINGS!!!!
(I mean, I am afraid of the process and getting them, not the piercings already on people!!!)
Fineliner, green highlighter and yellow highlighter. OUCHIES!!! The whole time I was drawing I kept thinking about the subject matter and so I had to do a really quick drawing to take my mind elsewhere!!!!

This was the day after I got my nose pierced, sore times!

Day 9 was “Something You Dislike” and as it pertains to rent inspections and has a bit of a rant to it, I’m not posting it here because slander just isn’t how I roll!

Day 10. Something That Makes You Happy
Post WWII era (1940s-50s) Hawaii makes me happy!! It’s so carefree and gaudy. This is probably why I love HulaBula Bar so much as well! I also love to draw in this theme.

Day 11. Someone or Something From Mythology
Laocoon, the priest of Troy. Laocoon warned the Trojans against bringing the wooden horse into the city walls, and this angered the goddess Athena, who favoured the Greeks. Athena sent two large serpents to kill Laocoon and his 2 sons. Bad times for Laocoon.

“And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers!!” exclaimed the large snake.

Day 12. Your Favourite Scene From a Movie
The whole date with Mia Wallace is my favourite part of Pulp Fiction … especially when they go to Jack Rabbit Slims.

“That’s when you know you’ve found somebody special. When you can just shut the fuck up for a minute and comfortably enjoy the silence.” – Mrs. Mia Wallace

Day 13. Your Most Recent Accomplishment. 

Jeez, this was a lazy cop-out. Does it count as a drawing? Yes. Yes it does. Art is in the eye of the beholder, you judgemental jerk.

Day 14. Your Favourite Fairy Tale
THE LITTLE MATCH GIRL, by Hans Christian Andersen.
For fucks sake, this is the most insanely depressing story ever. This little girl is sent out on New Years Eve night in the snow, selling boxes of matches. She dares not go home without having sold the matches for fear of being beaten by her father, and passers by ignore her. In the end, she defeatedly lights match after match and as she is dying of hypothermia, she hallucinates all sorts of joyful things like feasts and toys. *Spoiler Alert* Her final hallucination is her beloved dead grandmother who takes her away to heaven…. AURGH I CAN’T EVEN.

“But in the corner, at the cold hour of dawn, sat the poor girl, with rosy cheeks and with a smiling mouth, leaning against the wall–frozen to death on the last evening of the old year.”

Day 15. Inspiration
Inspiration indeed!! I get inspiration from everywhere, and I mean everywhere.

Especially old women who try to restore frescoes down at the local parish.

Day 16. Something You Want
That ain’t just any old ship, it’s an APPRENTICE ship!
(See what I did just there!?)

Remember how this blog started out as a way for me to track my venture into getting a tattoo apprenticeship, but then as I failed to get one, it just ended up being me ranting about irrelevant stuff? Good times.

Day 17. Something You Miss
I hell miss Modaks in Dunedin … Modaks fries and aioli, Modaks milkshake in a jar, Modaks vibe and the days I used to go sit in there and draw and listen to live DJs.

Echo Records was right next door, too. *Sighs wistfully*

Day 18. Something You Need… family of course!

This is my older brother and me, smoking some yummy flavoured shisha at a party awhile ago.

Day 19. A Hybrid Animal
This is Doctor Lurk. He lost his mind trying to invent a cat tarantula with octopus tentacles, and the creature ingested him. His mad genius brain now fuels the mismatched body with insane ideas of megalomania and torture.

As soon as I finished this, I realised it basically looks like a mix of Salad Fingers, Aragog, Dr. Robotnik and my old persian cat, Draco. I wonder what Freud would have to say about that.

Day 20. Siamese Twins
This is such an homage to Angelique Houtkamp, and also to Roland technology haha.

BOOOOOOOOOBS.

Day 21. A Guilty Pleasure
Pondering celebrity death conspiracy theories, obviously.

I also enjoy reading about Illuminati mind control and the Area 51 cover up. I have some great books on extraterrestrial contact with the human race from pre-history to today and desperatly wish to find a like-minded someone to discuss this earnestly with. Someone that won’t think I’m a fucking nut job, or pretend it isn’t real. Will any of you be that person?

Day 22. Historical/ Modern Icon That You Admire, Satirized – Using The Reason 

Sir Isaac Newton, of course!!! Discovering gravity by way of drinking so much cider that he had to hang on to the ground to keep from falling, haha.

Funnily enough, this is also how I learned about gravity. Great minds think alike, eh?

Day 23. What Did You Want To Be When You Grew Up?
A field archaeologist who would then study palaeontology. I became neither of these things, instead focusing on bronze age weaponry and then realising that I didn’t want to use my archaeology study at all – I decided to “waste my brains on art and pursue tattooing”.

Never has wasting my brain been more satisfying and pleasurable, though.

So, only 7 days to go and I’ll post the final seven once they are all done. One thing I have noticed is that I only remember to sign about half my work before I take pics of it, haha.

Love, Chelle xoxooxoxoxoxoxox

2 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

